English Deutsch

Kiosko-Menu   All for the Tango Argentino
Tango 4 Strings 5225

Tango 4 Strings

19,50 EUR 19 % VAT incl.
3-4 Days


Atle Sponberg, Ann-Helen Moen and Orkester Innlandet

Tango 4 Strings


In recent decades, Scandinavia has often provided invigorating impulses for a new way of seeing and hearing tango. Norway now sends us the Orkester Innlandet with soloist Atle Sponberg on violin and soprano Ann-Helen Moen to present classics of the tango literature in a concert hall guise with string ensemble.

These arrangements were commissioned by the violinist himself. Sponberg is far from merely acting as a melodic guide through the pieces. Representative for many numbers is the popular hit La Cumparsita: He develops it into a virtuosic showpiece with an almost Slavic melting, always in close dialogue with the strings.

In many other compositions, too, the strings are never confined to an accompanying role, but are cleverly placed by Sverre Indris Joner with a multi-layered polyphonic texture. Those who are not fixated on conventional tango instrumentation and have a soft spot for strings will enjoy this disc with all their senses. (Review in Tangodanza 90 - 2.2022)

Length: 54:00 Min.


01 Romance de Barrio - 4:43

02 La Cumparsita - 4:36

03 Variations over 'Lagrimas negras' - 4:13

04 Oblivion - 4:52

05 La Partida - 3:20

06 Retrolonga - 4:21

07 Ave Maria - 5:59

08 Escualo - 3:22

09 Soledad - 7:55

10 Milonga de mis amores - 2:50

11 El diablo suelto - 2:46

12 Canaro en Paris - 3:16

13 El Choclo - 3:53



Customers who bought this product also bought the following products...